life.

I was reminded of death today, not that that’s unusual. Death started shadowing me in my teens and she’s never really left, she’s always close by, a dark reality I’ve come to accept, or to be truly honest, an intriguing companion I have grown used to.
I often feel her pull, there is a deep warmth in the promise of her eternal embrace.
Sometimes I reach out to touch her, but for someone that has been so close for so long, she never seems quite ready for me.
I’ve watched her take so many around me, some long before their time, sometimes invited, sometimes with a vicious impatience I recognise well.
We flirt and she offers an end to the maddening confusion and despair. Her answers are always so much clearer than life, he who constantly seeks to reveal better possibilities before crushing them with a sadistic pleasure that stains the earth under him red with blood and dark with hate.
But Death’s breath is warm as she wispers, her gentle fleeting touch draws me away from the longing for the possibilities life so jealousy guards.
And as ruthlessly unfair as she can be at times, I have come to find comfort in her ever present shadow and the knowledge that some day her warm embrace will welcome me too.

Leave a comment